318i vrs 325i purchase

icebrick

I’m a Volvo guy who has recently rediscovered the joy of tossing around a smaller more nimble car. My 91 Jetta is a hoot to drive but somehow I feel like I’m in the big white lunch box.
There are a 1989 325i and a 1991 318i for sale locally that interest me. I have no experience with BMWs.
Any input regarding durability, driving experience, value, whatever, would help.

Thanks

I think I know the 318i you're looking at... I've been thinking of going to take a look at it myself. http://www.trader.ca/powerpage/details.aspx?vlotid=1171696&adid=7104754

I have become a fan of the 318i, having owned a couple 325e's and still have a 325i. (Even owned a 1992 VW jetta for a year... hated it) It depends what you want. If you want decent mileage, the 318i (DOHC 16v)will be decent on gas, unless you like to drive the snot out it. The engine is low maintanence as it has a timing chain (not a belt) and self adjusting valve caps. It has great thottle response, and will pass on the highway without any problem. You'll notice that there isn't a who bunch of useless, unrecognizable wires, hoses and tubes all over the place like your jetta. Everything makes perfect sense with the 318i... and they're all manual trannies from 1989 to 1992. Durability... should go forever, really. There's your usual maintanence stuff (fluid, belts, bushings) but all cars need that.

325i's have very long lasting engines... but with a timing belt ($800 every time you change it, and your waterpump), and it'll need a valve job every once in a while to keep it running properly. It pulls great on the highway, lauches pretty good. 30 more BHP that the 318i, but the 318i demands to be driven, whereas the 325i will pull you along for the ride. It will obviously be faster than the 318i, but I really like the 318i.